Ideas on paper

Thoughts by José Luis Agell

I’ve failed more than I’ve succeeded

Last Monday, the FailCon took place in San Francisco. As its website preaches: FaiCon is a one-day conference for technology entrepreneurs, investors, developers and designers to study their own and others’ failures and prepare for success. Wow!🙂

I love the idea to share our failing experiences to prepare for success. Because the entrepreneurial life is made of ups and downs. We need to have both to succeed.

I have the feeling that entrepreneurship is becoming a popular trend nowadays (especially in Spain). This is great on one hand: we need to change the way traditional companies work. However I believe that most people have a romantic concept of starting a company. It is actually an exciting adventure but it’s not sexy at all. Start-ups take long-hour workdays, economic efforts, tons of creativity, persistence and, of course, failures. So, we all need to embrace failure and, when things are not going as expected, find the way to pivot, reformulate the value proposition or restructure the team without being discouraged.

In this sense, I’d like to share the wise words of Vinod Khosla at FailCon 2011:

We better stop being afraid of failure and get used to talk about it with the pride that we talk about our successes!🙂

3 responses to “I’ve failed more than I’ve succeeded

  1. Jorge Suarez Rivaya (@jsrivaya) October 26, 2011 at 10:29 am

    So where you one of the lucky guys seeing Khosla at Microsoft yesterday?🙂 I missed it.

    “I’ve missed more than 9000 shots in my career. I’ve lost almost 300 games. Twenty six times, I’ve been trusted to take the game-winning shot and missed. I’ve failed over and over and over again in my life. And that is why I succeed.”

    —Michael Jordan

  2. powerklash October 26, 2011 at 11:42 am

    Failing is what makes success matter. Its what makes us strive for something better.

    Celebrate it.

  3. jlagell October 26, 2011 at 2:43 pm

    Thanks for your comments!
    FAILURE+ REFLECTION= PROGRESS

Leave a Reply

